Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

CMLRB is a multi-interest citizen board which establishes the regulations, standards and policies that guide the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety. The Board was created in 1976 by the Colorado General Assembly. Members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the legislature, serving terms of 4 years. The composition of the Board is established by the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Act.

Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Board Members

KARIN UTTERBACK-NORMANN -- representing the Soil Conservation Board

LAUREN DUNCAN -- substantial experience in Conservation

JILL VAN NOORD -- substantial experience in Conservation

DAN GIBBS -- representing the Department of Natural Resources

FORREST LUKE -- substantial experience in the Mining Industry

JOHN SINGLETARY -- substantial experience in Agriculture


CMLRB Duties and Activities

In the Minerals Program, the Board implements the Colorado Mined Land Reclamation Act and is actively involved in the decision-making process for controversial permit issuance and enforcement actions. The Board:

  • Approves or denies permits and permit modifications when there has been public comment.
  • Issues violations
  • Sets civil penalties
  • Sets Program policy and promulgates rules
  • Revokes Permits and Forfeits bonds

The Coal Program acts independently of the Board on nearly all decisions. The Board:

  • Adjudicates violations and permit decisions after all administrative appeals at the Program level have been exhausted.
  • Revokes permits and forfeits bonds
  • Promulgates rules