Coal Mine Board of Examiners 
Home > Boards > Board of Examiners

 

The Mine Safety & Training Program is the administrative arm of the Colorado Coal Mine Board of Examiners.    The Board is responsible for setting standards, examination, training and certification of coal miners in the positions of mine foreman (surface and underground), fireboss, shotfirer, surface blaster and electrician in compliance with federal MSHA requirements.    The Board meets and conducts certification examinations quarterly.    The Board consists of four voting members and one ex officio member appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the General Assembly.   Board members serve four year terms.    The Board appoints 2-3 members to serve on the Electrical Advisory Panel.

COLORADO COAL MINE BOARD OF EXAMINERS

(10/20/2014)

A Reed Bayles (970) 929-5250 (W)
Bowie Resourdes LLC (970) 527-2234 (F)
Bowie Mine No. 2
P O Box 1488
Paonia, Colorado 81428
rbayles@bowieresources.com

Richard Chermak (970) 929-2217 (W)
Mountain Coal Co LLC (970) 929-5050 (F)
Wesk Elk Mine
P O Box 591
Somerset Colorado 81434
rchermak@archcoal.com

John Poulos (970) 929-2219 (W)
Mountain Coal Co LLC 
Wesk Elk Mine
P O Box 591
Somerset Colorado 81434
jpoulos@archcoal.com

G Justin Fedinec (970) 824-4401 x 123 (W)
Trapper Mining Inc (970) 826-6136 (F)
Trapper Mine
P.O. Box 187
Craig, Colorado 81626
justin@trappermine.com

ELECTRICAL ADVISORY PANEL

Steve O'Connel (970) 929-2266 (W)
Mountain Coal Co LLC (970) 929-5054 (F)
Wesk Elk Mine
P O Box 591
Somerset Colorado 81434
soconnell@archcoal.com

ADMINISTRATION SUPPORT

Kim Harvill
Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
1313 Sherman St., Rm 215
Denver CO 80203
kim.harvill@state.co.us
(303) 866-3567 x8123 (W)
(303) 832-8106 (F)

Bill York-Feirn
Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety
Mine Safety Training Program
1313 Sherman St., Rm 215
Denver CO 80203
bill.york-feirn@state.co.us
(303) 866-3567 x8151 (W)
(303) 832-8106 (F)